Minutes of a Special meeting of the Worthing Council 12 December 2023 at 6.00 pm

Councillor Jon Roser (Chairman) Councillor Ibsha Choudhury (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Helen Abrahams Councillor Noel Atkins Councillor Mike Barrett Councillor Caroline Baxter Councillor Ödül Bozkurt Councillor Sophie Cox Councillor Sophie Cox Councillor Ferdousi Henna Chowdhury Councillor Claire Hunt Councillor Russ Cochran Councillor Dr Beccy Cooper Councillor Dan Coxhill Councillor Rita Garner Councillor Cathy Glynn-Davies Councillor Charles James Councillor Kevin Jenkins Councillor Nigel Morgan Councillor Richard Nowak Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes Councillor Samuel Theodoridi Councillor Samuel Theodoridi Councillor Hazel Thorpe Councillor John Turley Councillor Carl Walker Councillor Andy Whight Councillor Rosey Whorlow

Absent

Councillor Dan Hermitage, Councillor Margaret Howard, Councillor Daniel Humphreys, Councillor Dr Heather Mercer, Councillor Richard Mulholland, Councillor Dale Overton, Councillor Hilary Schan, Councillor Dawn Smith, Councillor Emma Taylor-Beal, Councillor Steve Waight and Councillor Vicki Wells

C/40/23-24 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Daniel Humphreys, Heather Mercer, Richard Mulholland, Dale Overton and Steve Waight.

C/41/23-24 Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to make any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests but no declarations were made.

C/42/23-24 Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Worthing

The Mayor informed Members that at the October Council meeting it had been agreed to convene a Special Council meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderman, on former mayor Lionel Harman.

The conferment of the title was proposed by Councillor Kevin Jenkins and seconded by Councillor John Turley.

Following a vote, it was unanimously agreed

Resolved,

That the honour and title of Honorary Alderman for the Borough of Worthing be bestowed on Lionel Harman in grateful recognition of his eminent and distinguished service rendered to Castle Ward, the Council and the Borough between 2015 and 2023, pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

Following the vote, the Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Lionel Harman with his scroll.

The meeting ended at 6.26 pm